• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividends

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividends

Hi

Contractor newbie here and getting myself confused and worried the more i read so wondering if someone can provide a simple answer.

How much tax do i pay on dividends if i am paying myself little or no salary (i.e. less than £10k per annum)?

This is both from a personal contribution stand point but also from the limited company's stand point?

I was under the impression that the company pays corporation tax on the profit and that as long as I'm under the lower limit for tax on my actual salary, that there is no further tax implication if i pay myself a dividend. Is that correct?

Dividends have no effect on CT. All you need to ensure from a company point of view is that you have enough profit, after CT, to pay the amount you declare. CT is due on profit before dividends, being sales less allowable expenses and wages.

From a personal point of view it depends on your overall income, it's not really a simple "one size fits all" answer.