• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How you all got started?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How you all got started?

Hi all

I'm currently retraining as a C# dev (1 year in). Working as a permie in a junior role learning my trade after several years contracting in an unrelated industry.

Interested in how you all gained your skills and how long it took to get to the point of being experienced enough to have initially moved into IT contracting? Computer Science degree followed by junior perm positions? Self taught then blagged the 1st contract?

Be interesting to hear some rags to riches stories

First Timers Guide - for IT Contractors :: Contractor UK

Like we are going to tell you

Comment

Studied geography, beer and girls at Poly, moved to Holland to play rugby for half a season for a Dutch club that was hiring a few mercenaries to stay in the premier division, met Lady Tester and worked on building sites until I'd learnt the language and then got a job at a water board doing population and water needs modelling; very interesting, quite an intelligent bunch of people, but severely underpaid. Then along came a chappy installing software that I had to test and his boss offered me a job, a company car I couldn't otherwise afford and a decent salary with bonus and training to do DBA work, so I was off. Then moved back to testing with an insultancy firm, then went freelance when I found that customers were phoning me instead of the 'account manager'.