• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Boomed! I am now a lecturer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boomed! I am now a lecturer

Just reached an agreement to teach an evening class at a local uni starting next February.

Pros:
    - something I have always wanted to do
    - nice diversified income stream for the business (but only pocket change)
    - nice addition to CV (what experience do you have in X? Oh, I teach a class in it)
    - forces me to be on top of my game on a particular technical skillset (will help with those closed tech question interviews)

Cons:
    - limits my travel (but I am in walking distance of the biggest market so less of an issue)
    - have to actually teach the class - long hours one day a week

Excellent - something I thought about for a bit, but turns out I couldn't be arsed to do anything about it

What are you teaching?

Comment

I'm looking forward to it. Going to be teaching a Linux class.

Comment

Nice one: )
        Invaluable that people with practical, "real" experience, in addition to pure academics, play a part in education.
        If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, quacks like a duck,it must be a duck

Comment

Originally posted by Bellona View Post
          Nice one: )
          Invaluable that people with practical, "real" experience, in addition to pure academics, play a part in education.
          WBS
          Never has a man been heard to say on his death bed that he wishes he'd spent more time in the office.

Comment