• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Complete Newbie - Took on contract work without company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complete Newbie - Took on contract work without company

Hi all,

I am a Software Engineer and was unemployed back in January 2013 when, out of the blue, I had an offer for some programming contract work from a large-ish company based mainly in the US. They needed the work to be done fairly urgently, so I blundered in straight away. I had never done or thought about contracting before then.

They are apparently well-versed in taking on contractors from Europe, and have a Denmark-based office for dealing with this. The contract had an "Entity Type" for me, which, since I had no company of my own, was marked as "[X] Individual". The contract lasted from February 2013 to June 2013. Payment was made via BACS into my personal Natwest current account.

Now I want to declare my earnings to the government, but it seems that I should have formed a Limited Liability Company and done things through that. Since I foolishly didn't do any of that, I have no idea what I should do now.

Any advice on how to proceed with this would be much appreciated

Register as self-employed and do a tax return based on that.
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I hadn't really understood this 'pwned' expression until I read DirtyDog's post.

Comment

Speak to an accountant.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by DirtyDog View Post