• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Employees and Employers NI

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employees and Employers NI

Just got hit with paying both of these NI taxes working through an Umbrella company. Is paying Employers NI going through an Umbrella company something that has been introduced within the last 3 years or so as I can't remember paying this last time I was a contractor. Seems like contracting is becoming less attractive than I remember.

You could argue working through an Umbrella is not contracting as you are employed by the brolly but lets leave that one

Speak to your Umbrella about any issues first as they are your employer and should manage it all for you. If they still can't answer your question to your satisfaction you could post a thread in the Umbrella section of the forum to see if Lisa can help.

EDIT : Does this help?

http://www.contractorumbrella.com/employers_nic.html

EDIT 2 : Or this?

http://www.sjdaccountancy.com/about/..._home_pay.html

National Insurance Savings
    With an umbrella company you will pay both employees and employers NI (Employers NI is 13.8% of your salary, and employees NI 12% for the first £770 a week, and 1% thereafter (both after tax free personal allowances).
    Last edited by northernladuk; 28 October 2013, 18:31.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment