• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Complete Newbie In Need Of Umbrella Help!!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complete Newbie In Need Of Umbrella Help!!!

Hi there people,

I am in a bit of a sticky situation at the moment with a job that i've just been offered and am in need of some no nonsense, straight forward, simple to understand, pro's and con's type advice which includes what to look out for type advice on what best to do please!!

To cut a long story short I have always been employed as a long term contractor via both Manpower and more recently Adecco, paid monthly, holiday and sick pay, just like a perm job really, and they sort out all tax and nic etc etc, but I recently got made redundant from that.

This other position has come up somewhere else which has been offered to me as a contractor role being paid a certain amount of money per day - not what i'm used to but hey its all looks the same in the bank so I didn't really care about that although I found a daily rate an odd way of doing it!

Anyway, I phoned 'Ajilon' to register as requested by the company concerned and this is where the problem has started - the guy expected me to either have my own company set up, or if I didn't, said that I would need to use something called an 'Umbrella' company who would supply that service for me.