• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting / Seeking Govt Help

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting / Seeking Govt Help

preamble:
    I have been running my own company for coming onto 11 years, and work as a freelance software developer, and also as a recruiter in my niche area.
    I have been interacting with this site for a few months.

question:
    I have noticed there have been a few threads about Job Seekers Allowance, and getting govt to pay stuff (the details escape me), and I wonder if this is a new phenomenon?

What I mean is, I thought we were freelancers, independent business owners, etc.
    I don't understand what appears to be a tendency to fall on govt help the moment a gig ends.

I am sure there are individual circumstances, etc, but shouldn't govt help be a last resort?

What would be the trigger for you to seek additional govt help in your search for a gig?

Originally posted by evilagent View Post
    preamble:
    I have been running my own company for coming onto 11 years, and work as a freelance software developer, and also as a recruiter in my niche area.
    I have been interacting with this site for a few months.

question:
    I have noticed there have been a few threads about Job Seekers Allowance, and getting govt to pay stuff (the details escape me), and I wonder if this is a new phenomenon?

What I mean is, I thought we were freelancers, independent business owners, etc.