• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cater Allen - payment services

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cater Allen - payment services

Hi guys,

I was a UK contractor until 5 years ago when I emigrated to Hong Kong. Like a lot of contractors I used Cater Allen for banking - business and personal. In the last 2 years I am getting nothing but problems with them especially in the last couple of weeks when CHAPS/SWIFT (in and out) payments are being withheld for up to 36 hours or just not processed at all until I complain and send proof from the sending bank that CA have the funds. I've sold my UK house and want to FX the money out of the UK hence so many payments recently. I want to FX payment abroad and even after confirmation that everything is OK CA simply do not transfer the funds.

I've been with CA for over 20 years - 18 great years and the last 2 diabolical for example:
    1. 2 consecutive years replacement cards have been sent to an incorrect and previous addresses and had to be resent.
    2. This year cards were cancelled before end date and without notice. New cards sent but were packaged with the new pin numbers by DHL.
    3. A payment from CA took nearly 36 hours to arrive at its destination and CA had to be reminded to send it.
    4. CHAPS Payment to CA took over 36 hours. CA denied receiving this payment and it took proof from the paying bank before CA admitted they had it.
    5. Instruction was given to CA for a SWIFT payment – 24 hours later and it did not happen.