• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Extreme Commuting Part Deux

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extreme Commuting Part Deux

BBC News - Readers' tales of extreme commuting

Ramsbottom, Lancashire to Aldgate, London
    Distance: 218 miles (351km)

Duration: Six-hour round trip

Mode of transport: Car, train, tube

Stuart Williams: "I work as an IT project manager in the city by Aldgate and commute daily from home.

"My day starts at 04:45, before leaving home for a 25-mile drive to Stockport train station at 6am. From Euston I then get the tube to Aldgate arriving just before 09:00 - if everything is working as it should be. I then make the return journey at 18:00 from Euston, arriving home at 21:00. I've worked out that the travel is exactly the same as the cost of renting in London - so therefore a better option."
    I'm not sure how he came to that conclusion.
    1) The season ticket alone is over £1200, it is easy to find reasonable digs for under that in London
    2) even if it is EXACTLY the same not having to travel for 6 hours every day has got to be good for ones mental health
    3) I hope to dear God that I never get project managed by this mentalist
    Coffee's for closers

Originally posted by Spacecadet View Post
    BBC News - Readers' tales of extreme commuting

I'm not sure how he came to that conclusion.
    1) The season ticket alone is over £1200, it is easy to find reasonable digs for under that in London