• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Gaps on dev CV

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gaps on dev CV

I am in the final throws of a 21 month contract (initial 3 month +2 extensions) and am hoping to go abroad for 2-4 months. I have been pushing this back for the last 3 years as wanted to built up a more impressive contracting CV. I have now been contracting for 4 years with no gaps greater than 2 weeks.

I appreciate there is no clear answer, but I was hoping to gauge the more experienced contractors views on here of how this will be perceived by agents and the end client? And whether there is any further damage limitation I can do to mitigate the risk of my CV being received less favorably than another contractor without the gaps.

Small damage limitation. As you only put months and years on your CV, try to finish on 1st of month.

Comment

Originally posted by Old Greg View Post
      Small damage limitation. As you only put months and years on your CV, try to finish on 1st of month.
      I did see you put this on another thread and annoyingly my contract does end on 31st Jan.

Comment

Originally posted by RedSauce View Post
        I did see you put this on another thread and annoyingly my contract does end on 31st Jan.
        Tricky when it's on a Friday...