• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Nooby... accommodation claiming back...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nooby... accommodation claiming back...

Ok, Im new to this 'contracting' thing. So I set up a company, avoid IR35, but I need to rent a flat or house near where I will be working for 6 months.
    As I dont have a UK address, I dont want this address to be seen as a 'main' residency. Is it worth renting a room from a mate in another part of the country,
    at least nominally, print off a lease etc. so I can claim tax on the 'real' address ?

Comment

Originally posted by Spudman View Post
      Ok, Im new to this 'contracting' thing. So I set up a company, avoid IR35, but I need to rent a flat or house near where I will be working for 6 months.
      As I dont have a UK address, I dont want this address to be seen as a 'main' residency. Is it worth renting a room from a mate in another part of the country,
      at least nominally, print off a lease etc. so I can claim tax on the 'real' address ?
      That's called fraud so I doubt anyone on here will help you. As we have discussed numerous times in the past only expenses wholly related to work are claimable against tax. I.e. the hotel you stay in Monday-Friday or the room you use Monday-Friday. Anything you use over the weekend is not wholly related to work and hence not tax deductible...
      merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Bored banned sockie master?
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment