• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best way to ingratiate yourself with unfriendly development manager & architect

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best way to ingratiate yourself with unfriendly development manager & architect

Started a new gig. Interviewed and hired by development manager and "architect" (and one of the developers).

First day. Dev manager and "architect" are spectacularly unfriendly to the point of rudeness. I am a seasoned contractor - but not having the decency to say goodnight to the new guy when leaving (particularly when said new guy is sitting beside the door) is rude IMO. And I have been conversational and friendly to everyone throughout the day (even when not reciprocated).

Frankly I smell a little buyers' remorse because I completely aced the interview, played hardball on the rate. And then the first day happens and yes, I am a mere mortal.

Any advice?

PS: can someone explain the difference between a development manager and product manager (or project manager)? Are there any connotations with the title "development manager" (i.e. what development "school of thought" does it come from?). I haven't heard of anyone using the title before.
    Last edited by wonderboy; 20 January 2014, 22:54.

Speak to Suity, he's been on the end of buyers remorse almost every contract
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?

I want my account deleted and all of my information removed, I want to invoke my right to be forgotten.

Comment