• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What to say and when

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to say and when

I'm a first time contractor and left my job a few weeks ago now. I've struggled to get even an interview. I have good skills (in Oracle Apps - technical) and my CV seems to get a good reception from agencies. I have made the mistake of applying for permie jobs as well and received offers from Deloitte and EDS but have turned these down to hold out for a contract which is what I wanted. Can somebody tell me: if an agent asks if I have anything on the go is it better to say 'No', or to say that you have these offers? At what point does it become embarrassing that you have spent weeks looking without getting anything? What to say in this situation?

Any advice much appreciated.

This is a bit of a dillema and ultimately it is your decision.
    If you say you have no other offers then you sound a bit tulip, but if you say you have lots then the agent may doubt you are commited to his job.
    I usualy say I am waiting to hear, but this one is the one I want.

If you are struggling it may be because you have no track record. You could try offering to take a cut rate for 3 months. The agent will still charge the client full rate but will pocket the difference and that is a real incentive for them to place you.
    I am not qualified to give the above advice!

The original point and click interface by
    Smith and Wesson.

Step back, have a think and adjust my own own attitude from time to time

Comment