• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Multiple Contractors Working Under 1 Company/Brand Name?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multiple Contractors Working Under 1 Company/Brand Name?

Hi Gents,

I'm relatively new to contracting, so please excuse the lack of insight.

My mother and 2 of her colleagues (who are all retiring very shortly), are looking to set themselves up, and deliver educational consultancy/training into schools.

They're planning to set up a business to do this through... The problem is, if they were all under the same firm, taking minimal salary/larger dividends, I can't see a way to seperate out who has done what work- My mother, for example is planning on only doing 1 day per week, whereas the other 2 are planning to do 2/3 days per week.

This makes a bit of a tricky sitaution for fairly paying the 3 of them, in proportion to the amount of work done (which will go up and down for all 3 of them, over time).

So, would it be better for them all to have 3 seperate LTD companies, effectively trading seperately?

They would like to trade together, under the same brand/banner- Is there any way to do this? Would a 4th company be necessary, just to provide the brand?

Many thanks in advance for your insights.

They could set up a company each and then all use the same trading name - as long as none of them object to each other using the same trading name then it should be fine.