• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Boring Job

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boring Job

Hello

Ive been working in IT Support for about 13 years now and seem to be stuck on my current salary which is good for the type of work I do 2nd line Desktop Support.

I did try contracting before this perm job and it did help me to get on a higher pay packet but im still doing the same type of work I was doing before I started contracting.

Don't get me wrong im good at what i do but im not really learning anything I keep seeing the same problems which I was fixing 10 years ago like when users rotate there screens ..its like there excited they done it.

It's not good a good state to be in sometimes I get angry when I have to deal with 1st line support calls. The problem been is that there is no real difference between 1st line support and 2nd line support where i work. I spend most my day sending emails asking people obvious questions like have you done this or done that it gets very boring.

I can deal with it all ok but what i can't deal with is sitting around with no work to do, support if very reactive..its not like a sales job for example.

I did get an MCP in Windows XP before but to be honest it was really hard work..I was going to do the MCP in Windows Server 2003 but the pint out for the brain dumps for it where so thick I never bothered as I was loosing the will to live haha!