• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working extra hours / days

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working extra hours / days

Newbie here so go gentle please.

I've done as much reading as my brain can cope, but unable to find anything about this particular situation.

I am contracting to a big client and there are two contractors and two permies who are involved in this work. The two permies currently work very long hours - somewhere around 10-12 hours most days, and at least one weekend day a week, they get no overtime for this at all.

I haven't yet been asked yet, but I expect it's only a matter of time, to work some weekend days, and some late evenings, but I should be able to negotiate a later start for t hose - my clients agreement with their client is to provide testing support between certain hours - until around 8pm.

My question is, given that the permies are doing all this work for free - they aren't getting any time off in return etc. If I was to also do the work for free, would that make me look much more like an employee than a business? I see that most of the threads are regarding permies getting PAID overtime thus a contractor shouldn't expect to get paid. This is the inverse though.

Secondly, my contract states £xxx/day day=7.5hours, I assume that if I'm asked to work or agree to work a weekend I should be invoicing them on my time record for the additional days and there should be no issue? My contract is via an agency.

Thanks