• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Retrospectively declare income?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Retrospectively declare income?

Hello there!

Background:

I am a contractor operating through my own limited company.
    In the past three years, I gave myself the following income (through salary + dividends):
    2012-13 ~£100k (~13k SA tax due)
    2011-12 ~£42k (~£0 SA tax due)
    2010-11 ~£44k (~£0 SA tax due)

The reason I only took out £44k and £42k was because at the time I didn't need any more money personally, not realising the implication of the £100k threshold (losing the allowance at a 2:1 ratio). Now I'm faced with wanting to withdraw the savings I allowed to accumulate in the company, but for every £1 over £100k I withdraw, I end up paying almost 50p in tax.

Is there any way to go back to 2010/2011 and declare a greater dividend? This would require new company accounts and new SA returns, probably annoying a lot of people in the process, in particular HMRC, but also companies house, and my accountants.

Is there any other way I can rescue this money that I stupidly allowed to stay in the company?

Thanks for any ideas you might have.

Carry back pension is about all you can do. Unless you want to commit a few criminal expenses, which you accountant would need to be complicit in.

Comment