• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Noob here, already fed up with agency and umbrella company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob here, already fed up with agency and umbrella company

Hello there

I started working as an IT contractor last December. I got the job via a recruitment agency and I signed up with an umbrella company. Now, after 3 months, I already have enough of many things:

- since I work through recruitment agency, I need my timesheet to be submitted and approved every week. I am dead tired of chasing my manager every single week asking her 2-3 times to have a look at my (online) timesheet so I can get paid on friday

- the recruitment agency takes quite a good margin for doing basically nothing. Really, the guy doesn't even reply to my emails, so why should the agency take £5 for every hour of my work...just because they got me the interview?

- i have to pay the umbrella company too (£20 a week)

Basically, I'm tired of all these additional layers between me and the company I am working for and since my contract is about to get extended for quite a few months, I am thinking of "cutting" off both agency and umbrella.
    From my readings, becoming a sole trader seems to be the most viable option.

So, can somebody explain to me how it works? As far as I have understood I have to

1) register as a sole trader
    2) send every week/month an invoice to the company for my services (no more timesheets!)
    3) keep all the receipts of my expenses