• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Noob here, tying self up in knots of NI calculations! please help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob here, tying self up in knots of NI calculations! please help!

Hi folks, my first post on the forum here so understand will be moderated. Must try not to swear!

I've done a load of research myself on this subject in the last 24 hours, and I've searched and read various articles and threads on here, but can't find the answer to my specific question, so any help gratefully received.

I set up my limited company in January, a few days before starting my first contract. Because of inevitable delays in payment of invoices, I'm only now in a position to pay myself my first salary. Background is that I have not worked or earned any income whatsoever so far in the 2013-14 tax year. I was made redundant at the end of 2012 and decided to take the opportunity to have a whole year off (I know, lucky me) and that's what I did. So as it's turned out, the salary I'm about to pay myself (before April 5th) will be my only salary in this year.