• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taking a (possibly permanent break from contracting) should I close my business?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taking a (possibly permanent break from contracting) should I close my business?

Hi,

First, apologies if this is the wrong forum.

I've been working for the last 6 years as a contractor, limited company, using a standard accountancy with a monthly fee.

At the end of last year my contract expired. Since then I've taken a break and am now doing some unrelated work (basically I'm writing a book). Since it may be some time before I see any payment for the work I'm doing now I've kept the business open and am drawing a small salary which is covering my expenses. Should I keep this arrangement going or is there any downside on the legal or tax side to doing this for an extended period of time (potentially for over a year).

I kind of resent paying the monthly accountancy fee when I'm not working, but I guess I face paying tax on the final dividend (£40k-ish) if I close it down now? Also, I've found in the past that these kinds of accountancy firms drag their feet terribly when closing down businesses (I assume to get a few more payments out of clients) - I guess I could just dispense with them now, but then I'd have to make a one-off payment to another accountant to do the work or try and do it myself (not my strong point).

Any advice appreciated.

Ta
    r