• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Africa

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Africa

Hi,
    I am not sure if this is the right place to post, I found this site via google....but here goes.

I am an engineer and have seen a role advertised in Angola. I currently contract in the UK. The angolans want to interview me, but I am struggling with getting a rate out of the agency. If it was a uk job I'd probably have told them to clear off, but I am quite intrigued by what might be on offer here.

The agency are asking me what my current rate is (obviously I havent told them!). I have said that my current rate is neither here nor there as I currently have a 30 minute drive to work, centrally heated office, no danger of kidnap etc....

Does anyone have an idea of what kind of rate I might expect? I dont have a clue! Or is there another Forum that anyone can recomend - maybe an ex-pat contractors forum?
    I am currently getting mid 30's in the UK. The price I had in mind for angola would be 2-3 times that. Plus I would want transport and accomodation sorting. Am I being too optimistic, or does that sound about right?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Pretty unrelated but have you seen Angola airport on google earth? There are at least 4 aircraft that have crashed and have just been left where they ended up. Not the best site to see when your taking off/landing...

Luzamba airport: plane-wreck central

etc
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

I have a "friend" who worked there: