• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Travel Expense Advice Needed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Travel Expense Advice Needed

Hi,

Hoping someone can help.

I am a contractor working as a Project Manager for a large Retail bank through a limited company. I recently traveled to London for a project meeting and stayed in a Hotel @ £156/ night (this includes VAT of £26) which was paid out of my personal account. When I submit an expense report at the end of the month and this is approved, £156 will land in my Business account as the bank pays me for my monthly invoice and expenses. The way I understand it, this £156 will then be liable for VAT which means I will in effect be out of pocket (by the 14% flat rate amount) when I submit my VAT return.

Can someone please advise what I need to do to ensure I receive the full expense that I paid back as I’m not keen to be out of pocket for any future travel I need to make with the bank? My accountant doesn't seem to be able to help.

Any help would be appreciated.

T

Originally posted by busgrw View Post
    My accountant doesn't seem to be able to help.
    Sort this out first. You are going to be a lot more out of pocket if you are paying an accountant and he isn't doing what he is supposed to do.

Why is he not 'able' to help. He doesn't know the answer or just isn't answering emails/phone?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment