• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Basic question: Umbrella or Ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basic question: Umbrella or Ltd

I am new to contracting and have heard about two possible avenues: umbrella and Ltd.

Are there other options as well?

My desire is simple: retain as much of my gross salary as possible.

I have read of schemes where you can retain as much as 90% of gross. Are these schemes legal?

Thanks

There is a thread not 4 below this discussing the merits of 90% schemes. Hell it's even in the title.

You are a crap sockie. 0/10 now bugger off.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

And in the very remote possibility that you're not a crap sockie we will point and laugh at you when you come back whining that the HMRC are demanding their pound of flesh plus penalties and you discover that your scheme provider has closed up shop and done a runner.

And you can still bugger off...
      "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
      - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Ltd.
        The material prosperity of a nation is not an abiding possession; the deeds of its people are.

George Frederic Watts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Postman's_Park

Comment

Read the stickies and guides. If you are still unsure, go permie.

Comment

Originally posted by rsingh View Post
            go permie.
            FTFY

Comment

Originally posted by speling bee View Post