• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract: Notice period information

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract: Notice period information

All contracting gurus out there,
    I am a permy turning contractor for the first time. I have recd. the contract now , my query is around the notice period by either parties. i have a 6-mth contract ,and my contract clause reads

Company Notice Period: 1 week probation, 1 month thereafter
    Employee Notice Period: May not give notice during probation, 4 weeks thereafter
    Probationary Period: 1 month

am i right in deducing that i can leave them before my contract expires by giving a month's notice period.?
    Thanks

Yep !

Comment

nope!
      (\__/)
      (>'.'<)
      ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

AndyW
        cheers , mate.
        although it was pretty evident reading the contract, i still wanted to double check.
        I also have a (tempting) permy offer in a more senior role that contract role, (agree the dough is lesser in permy roles but nevertheless), I am in 2 minds, and may go permy after 2-3 months into the contract (wicked of me to start the contract in the first place then, but that's me, and want some quick bucks before settling down nicely).

Comment

I would get your contract changed, you are going to be a company supplying services to another company, not an employee!!!