• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Attitude to Fixed Income in 2014

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attitude to Fixed Income in 2014

First, a confession. I'm a newbie investor.

That said, I'm finding the task of building a balanced portfolio somewhat bewildering and the more research I do, I find I have more and more unanswered questions.

Putting equities aside for a minute, I believe that fixed income funds are generally seen as a safe hedge against stock market turmoil and it's recommended that a substantial proportion of ones portfolio is made up of fixed income funds (the amount depending on your age, attitude to risk etc).

What's inneresting at the moment is that we seem to be at the end of the longest fixed income bull market for decades with the innernet abuzz with warnings of avoiding government and corporate bond like the plague. Let's face it, with innerest rates set to rise multiple times over the next couple of years and hence bond yields going up, only a fool would dabble in long term gilts.

The received wisdom appears to be that the way to go at the moment is to invest on strategic bond funds where the fund manager has the flexibility to invest in a range of fixed income assets accordingly.

Just wondering if any of you is rebalancing your portfolio at the moment and what is your approach to fixed income?