• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

£11K locked in old permie job pension. Is there a way of ...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

£11K locked in old permie job pension. Is there a way of ...

£11K locked in old permie job pension. Is there a way of getting the cash into my company account ?

I am a contractor now and I work under an umbrella company.
    I wrote to my old permie company and they stated that I can either a) do nothing and the £11K stays in the pension scheme until I retire (naturally) or b) transfer the old permie pension all £11K of it into either a new company pension or private pension schem (no I don't have one and don't want one).

Question : Is there a cunning way of setting up a private pension scheme with a policy which allows you to quit the pension and take the money now (incurring a modest penalty fee) or not ?. See I really want to get my hands on the £11K right now to help me purchase a new home. If so then I will transfer the old pension to the new private pension scheme and disolve it pronto.

Answers on a post card please.

Re: £11K locked in old permie job pension. Is there a way of

If it's a pension, no chance AFAIK. You can only transfer it. I assume you are under 50?

Comment

yes, i am under 50 and angry.

Comment

You can fill a form in and the government will transfer the money to a deserving asylum seeker. Is that any help?