• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses - confusion

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses - confusion

I'm new to contracting and I'm trying get my head around qualifying expenses.

I've spent a lot of time reading different articles, forums, HMRC website and speaking with my accountant/account manager. But still, I find contradicting information.

So, I would like to provide my scenario and would be grateful for feedback.

As I mentioned, this is my first contract - 1 month into a 3 month contract. I am an IT Contractor, set up as a Limited Company.

My contract is outside of IR35.

I leave my home at 6.25 everyday to commute into London and get to the client's office by 8.45.
    I leave at about 17.15 and arrive home around 7.30.

I claim for my Monthly Train Season Ticket.
    I claim for morning coffee that I pick up on the way to the office, sometimes including a pastry.
    I claim for lunch, generally less than £5, but sometimes just less than £10. I occasionally have a bigger lunch with colleagues, which can be over £10.

I use one of the large online accountancy firms. My accountant / account manager has said that all of these expense claims are absolutely fine. They are all "reasonable" expenses to a temporary place of work.

But what I still cannot understand is why there are so many other Contractors out there who do not claim these expenses and have indeed been recommended by their accountants not to.