• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor through LTD rental application: self employed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor through LTD rental application: self employed?

Hi All, I work as a contractor through my own limited company. Currently I am looking to rent a house and going through the estate agent, paper work and looking online I am confused now about something I thought I knew: am I considered 'self-employed'? My understanding was that that indicates a sole trader, not the director of a ltd company. But after explaining my situation to the estate agent their response was 'so, you're self-employed?', and now I am filling out the rental application form I have to select 'employed', 'self-employed', 'on-contract'.

Doing a search around, there are many websites that discuss 'should I go limited company *or* self employed', however reading for instance the following:

Independent contractors

seems to indicate contractors with their own limited company can also be termed self-employed. So what would you fill in, and while I'm at it: what am I from the viewpoint of the hmrc?

You're an employee of a company you just happen to own. Self employed would indeed refer to sole traders.

The term is commonly used by agents and even contractors to refer to themselves though, as they are working for themselves. Sort of

From a tax use of the phrase though, definitely not.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

For idiots i.e. estate agents, some banks I choose self-employed.