• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cannot pay VAT/PAYE due to Director's Loan - Need Advice !

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cannot pay VAT/PAYE due to Director's Loan - Need Advice !

I worked as a contractor under my limited company formed since since Aug 2013. I had a 6 month contract which ended in Feb 2014 and was uptodate with my VAT/PAYE up until the most recent bill. During the course of my work, i had taken up directors loan which amounts to just under £5k and the VAT/PAYE is around £4k. I am currently still looking for work but haven't been so successful and have decided to apply for benefit in order to pay bills for now.

My accountant has advised me that the directors loan needs to be paid soon so that i can pay HMRC the VAT/PAYE and need to call them to discuss a payment option. How long can i request them to delay the payment?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

The one person not to mess about with is the VAT man. Pay him pronto, whatever it takes.

You pay a professional for advice so speak to him. If he says pay it soon then I would pay it soon and look for some other source of credit that won't be as unforgiving as the VAT man.

P.s. I would be thinking about moving accountants if he was the one that suggested you mess about with directors loans in your first contract.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

How come your accountant actioned the Directors Loan whilst knowing that would mean you were trading insolvently?

Comment