• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Start this Monday but no contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Start this Monday but no contract

Hi, I'm a newbie to his forum, although I have been a contractor on and off for the last 6 yrs or so. This has never happened before though. Supposed to be starting with a company on Monday for a 3 month contract. It is direct with the company, no agency.

I've been asking to see the contract ASAP, but they have been saying they are having to make "amendments" to their ltd company contracts because of recent legislation ?!? Despite my requests , I still haven't seen anything.

It's a new client, I don't know much about them and it was they who approached me for this job, not the other way round.

I'm not quite sure what's in my best interest to do. I'm thinking of turning up on Monday and saying if I don't get a mutually agreed contract by the end of today, then I can't return. By turning up am I accepting something even though I've not seen a contract ? The rate has been agreed via an email from the MD.

Many thanks
    Liz

Send them PCG contract today and work on the basis of that.

Join the PCG if you're not already with them.

QDOS may have a contract you can use but I'm not sure.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by cojak View Post
      Send them PCG contract today and work on the basis of that.