• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Am I restricting myself too much if I can only contract in London?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I restricting myself too much if I can only contract in London?

Hi,

I'm being made redundant from my company and am tempted to try contracting.

I've got 20 years of IT experience, 5 of which are as an IT Project Manager, I'm Prince2 Practitioner certified and have run both infrastructure projects, and development projects for a leading UK retailer.

In the last 3 years, most of my experience has been in project managing Oracle developments (OBIEE and EBS) and my prior technical career was as a Java Web Developer.

I've got a family life and so would only really be willing to work in London (plus Kent or Surrey).

...my question is, is this an unrealistic restriction?

i.e. would I *have* to travel to stand any chance of finding contracts? Note, I'm not that fussed about rates, I'd prefer to lose £100/day than have to drive for hours a day, or stay away all week in hotels etc.

I don't have any financial services experience - but would be happy to work in any sector that would employ me!

Any help, or suggestions greatly appreciated.

Regards

David Bevan.

Of all the places in the country, London is probably the best you could pick for being "stuck" there. I'm from the Midlands and the vast majority of my contract work has been London based.

I think the SJD survey said something like 40% of ALL contracts (from the contractors they surveyed, of course) were in London.