• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should I take a new contract at a substantially lower rate for experience?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by ziggystardust View Post
    2) get a permanent job for a year to upskill (which presently I could just about do but financially I would be struggling).
    I'm not a project manager, so I may be wrong, but one year's experience as a PM seems unlikely to me to get you far in the contract world.

Also, if you are struggling on a permanent salary, then you might need to really consider whether contracting is for you - you've already had 3.5 months off in each year, so what happens if that gets worse?

I will be committed to stay?
    You will be committed to either fulfilling the contract, terminating the contract in line with the terms therein, or breaching the contract. All of those are valid choices, and only you can really decide on them.

Will taking a contract that might be more junior and not specifically related to what I have done for the sake of keeping the money coming in look bad on my CV when viewed by clients/agencies?
    It depends on the mindset of the agent and the client - some won't even notice, some will ignore it, and it will put some off.
    Best Forum Advisor 2014
    Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
    Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

2) get a permanent job for a year to upskill (which presently I could just about do but financially I would be struggling).