• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

SC Clearance doom?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SC Clearance doom?

Hi All,

This is the dreaded first post.

I work for a company, writing software, who is subbed out to a UK Government organisation down south. I have been working here for 2 years solid and am currently 21 years old, prior to this I held down a retail job for 2.5 years and before that a job which I left after 1.5 months - it sucked.

Anyways, the point is, we now require an SC clearance at work of which I am particularly distressed for several major reasons.

I have a ticket for theft AND previous caution against me - this occurred over 4 years ago, almost 5. It was bad, I was young and stupid, and very stupid. Staff theft, oh the shame, seriously it kills me thinking how much of a wretched fool I was to do this.

Wait, that's not all, the shame continuous...

I also have a family who have a particularly bad reputation with the revenue, namely, my father did a years time when I was around 7 years of age. And prior to that I have two uncles which were involved in major fraud.

That is it in terms of reasons why I will 99.9% fail. I generally like my job and am very good at it, personally I have no idea what I would be doing otherwise. Over the past 4 years since my incident, I've matured greatly as a person and have held down two jobs for a substantial period.