• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on becoming a Java contractor, minimum experience

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on becoming a Java contractor, minimum experience

Hello, ok so basically I'm a Java developer thinking about going contracting. Just wondering if anyone out there can give me any advice, esp with respect to experience required. Also, I'm looking to get regular work primarily in the north west of England.

Briefly my experience is:

7 years enterprise software development, 6 in Java.
    Certifications:
    Certified Spring professional, core Spring.
    Certified Jpa developer ( I.e. Hibernate)
    Oracle certified web developer ( servlets, jsp etc)
    Oracle certified ejb developer
    Oracle certified Java programmer

Many thanks for any advice.

It doesn't matter how many years experience you have got before you go contracting it matters:
    1. Who that experience is with, and
    2. Is there a market for your experience?

I suggest you look at the job boards and see if there is a market for your skills in the area you want to work in. If the rates are pants then you need to work out how to move up the food chain or get more niche skills.

Also be aware that lots of contractors have to travel around the country or even work in Europe when there is no work locally unless they want to spend over a year on the bench.

"You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment