• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pulling out of Contract after accepting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pulling out of Contract after accepting

Good Day,

I am new to contracting and accepted my first IT contract last week through recruiter A. This contract is a 45 mile drive each way and is paying £400 per day for 4 months. I actually had an interview arranged for this week through recruiter B for a contract which is 7 mile drive, £500 per day and a minimum of 6 months (likely to extend as it is early project days). I already accepted and signed contract A and tried to cancel the interview for contract B but recruiter B convinced me that I should go to the interview anyway and then decide what is best for me as recruiter A will find somebody in no time.
    Obviously recruiter B is going to say that I should go for my benefit when it is simply for his benefit. However, I am stuck as to what is the right thing to do. Contract B is far better on paper and I feel I would benefit most from it but I do not like to mess people around and go back on my word. It is not how I like to act in life where possible.

Interested to know what others think about this...

It is not the first time I've done a good interview, thought I would get the gig, but at the end I didn't get it for whatever reason.