• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

So frustrated with agencies

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So frustrated with agencies

Hello,
    I'm posting on here as I feel so fed up with agencies. I am inbetween contracts at the moment and looking for admin roles. In my last role I worked as a consultant. I've just had a well-known agency contact me about an Operator role. According to him there is little difference between a Consultant, Administrator or Operator! Most of the time the agencies call me regarding Systems Analyst roles and I spend a lot of time explaining to them what that means! Only yesterday I had one of them call and he was confused as he didn't understand that what he described was the hardware and not the software! Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! So frustrating. How do they ever manage to place anyone?

You mean you didn't want to take a 50% cut and relocate?
    But you'd be an ideal match.
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Admin roles? What you do mean by that? General business admin stuff? Aren't they mostly temp roles not contractor ones? Isn't admin an enduring role so it's gonna be a bit of an IR35 bear pit?

Must say I'm confused already so maybe not difficult to understand why the agent's are. I must admit at a certain level I can't see the difference between admin, consultant, operator either. It's just titles. Still just need a bod to do whatever.