• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Disguised Contractor View Post
    Mmm - well, that's it, I don't have much in the way of interviews at the moment. The few I've had haven't panned out, because either they have had stronger candidates (high supply for all demand), and looking for stronger software dev skills. I'm just a humble cloud architect, eight years experience in AWS and Azure, integrating or migrating on-prem to cloud, either by VM to EC2, or redesign solution for Lambda/DynamoDB/ECS/EKS/Mesh/sprouts/stuffing/gravy. I'm relatively light in modern dev skills, and I'm getting annoyed that they are increasingly being included as mandatory skills, ostensibly simply as differentiators / filters for screening purposes.

Personally, I'm not that much in demand at the moment, most roles seems to need software dev skills at the moment, even for roles where software dev skills have never been historically needed and may never be used, and I've been benched for a while, much longer than I ever usually have, even when considering the time of year. Are we expecting more vacancies to open up soon?
    I suspect there may be more roles appearing on the market after the budget is announced in March. This will provide the finalised detail as to how HMRC intend to roll out IR35 and give companies more clarity. This combined with finalising budgets for the new financial year may result in more roles becoming available.

Comment