• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I was benched as of Tuesday, I've been looking for the next gig for almost 2 weeks now and it's certainly quiet out there. Almost feels like hitting 'Apply' sends your CV off into the void. In usual times, I can expect ~10 calls from recruiters on a decent day (half of them trying to place me in a role I have zero experience with of course). For the past week, that's probably 2-3 at best.

There's certainly stuff out there though, I've had a few promising conversations this week. One interview where I'd likely have got the role but both the client and I agreed I was probably not a good fit, plus an interview last night that I'm waiting to hear back from.

Comment

Had good call from recruiter yesterday. Finding after a few hears of being in the doldrums getting mojo back, pushing more code to Github, adding to CV by doing some mates rates work for a friend etc.

Feel more positive about things and if the future is inside IR35 gigs at times so be it - it's still money.

Comment

I received another call today for inside gig. Laughable rate again plus I would have to travel and when I ran the ticket costs, I could be better off stacking shelves in a supermarket.

Comment

Originally posted by perplexed View Post
          Had good call from recruiter yesterday. Finding after a few hears of being in the doldrums getting mojo back, pushing more code to Github, adding to CV by doing some mates rates work for a friend etc.