• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by eek View Post
    I'm happy to meet agents if food and drink are involved - usually there is because I'm happy to spend the hour getting newbie agents up to speed on basic technologies in my industry - so they can weed out the real no hopers.
    I don't meet with total newbie agents because they don't really handle the sort of roles I go for. I have met some who were on their way up the agent ladder, as it were, for lunch/a coffee etc. I once met one young lady who was only about 25 at the time but she seemed really smart, asked lots of interesting questions etc. Six years later and within the space of three months, I got a call out of the blue from colleagues of hers saying she had recommended me for two roles.

One was very interesting and I was waiting on an interview date to be confirmed when the company canned the role due to Covid.

You never know when these kinds of things may lead to opportunities down the line, that's what networking is all about but of course, YMMV - you might have a complete numpty agent who wants to 'practice' asking questions on you...

Comment

Originally posted by edison View Post