• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Giving Notice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Giving Notice

After 11 years of being a contractor, I have never given notice to any client midway. I feel I need to do it this time. I am extremely stressed out, not just from work and need to leave to maintain sanity. Any thoughts on how to put this across? I am just concerned that this might leave a sour taste at the client where I do hope to return later if I can.

Originally posted by AnthonyQuinn View Post
    After 11 years of being a contractor, I have never given notice to any client midway. I feel I need to do it this time. I am extremely stressed out, not just from work and need to leave to maintain sanity. Any thoughts on how to put this across? I am just concerned that this might leave a sour taste at the client where I do hope to return later if I can.
    Firstly, what does your contract say, with regards to notice?

On the surface of it I would rule a return gig out, if you are going to leave them in the lurch.
    The Chunt of Chunts.

Comment

If you have to go then a polite mail advising of the situation and that you will honour the notice period of X days. Thank you very much and goodnight.

Make sure you understand who to give notice is and what the period is.

You will just have to let it play out and see what the fall out is.

If NWP2C is on her should be able to give you a ton of real world advice.
      Last edited by northernladuk; 4 August 2016, 17:57.