• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Crunch time. Advice needed.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Crunch time. Advice needed.

Hello all.

I have been working as a business analyst for just shy of 10 years. Over this time, I have seen my salary rise from a junior entry level salary of 25k to approx. 80k as a lead. Consistently told that I have great potential, the companies I have worked at have and continue to invest in helping me progress.

I feel I now need to make a decision about my future. My last promotion has moved me into a line management role, so less actual business analysis.

I know that if I continue down this path for for too long, the option of switching to contract as a BA may become increasingly difficult (correct me if I'm wrong). I also know I will continue making less money than I potentially could.

On the other hand, if I decide to switch to contracting, I will never know how far I could have progressed in the perm world.

So what are your thoughts? What would you do? Should I continue along the perm route or pack it all in and go contract?

Thanks in advance.

I'd not be going anywhere with an 80k wage in these time. I assume that is plus benefits. You appear to have factored that in though.

I must admit I'm not sure how we can help though. Normally we are asked to help with decisions on tangibles like rate, income, travel etc. This one appears to purely personal so not sure what to add beyond contracting isn't the best route at the moment.