• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Couple of contracting questions...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Couple of contracting questions...

Hi Guys,

I'm new here, in fact I've just registered

So I was wondering if I may ask some more experienced contractors a couple of questions.

I work in IT, as I'm sure many of the guys here do, and am currently and always have been, a permanent employee.

I was offered a job in the USA, and I accepted.. however after 6 months of waiting, the visa has been refused and while the company still want me, if I can't legally live there I can't work, and so that's off the table now. Which has got me into thinking about what I want to do with my future. Which brings me here...

I'm considering doing some consulting, so that I can spend some time in Spain between contracts, where I have family.

Sorry for blabbing on, hopefully I've not bored you and I'll cut to the questions:

1.) If I were to sign a 6 or 12 month contract, on a daily rate and decided that 3-4 months into the contract that it either wasn't working out, or I needed to travel somewhere for some reason.. what is the general policy with cancelling a contract? Is it the same as a standard employment contract? And/or is it frowned upon to end contracts early, would it give me a bad name in the contracting world.

2.) IR35 - I've read a bit about this, but I'm pretty unclear as to what comes under this and whether it really costs so much. If a contract is only 3 to 6 months, would IR35 even come into play?