• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving to Finland but keeping LTD

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving to Finland but keeping LTD

Hi folks,

After searching and reading the forum I am still unsure on my question.

I am a contractor running own Ltd company for the last 4 years in England. It is working well for myself and my wife who is a Company secretary and second shareholder. No issue on that side so far.

However our family want to relocate to Finland to settle there permanently. Unfortunately none of us knows Finnish\Swedish and so it would be quite an issue to open Limited company in Finland. Also it is not cheap and of course not that tax efficient as in UK.

So ideally we want to use an UK Ltd if this could be still 'safe' and tax efficient to do. We have a trustable person in UK who could be a new Director.

Is there any workable and safe way to keep this or create new Ltd in the UK with a new Director and us as two shareholders? So that we could have on the one side Ltd which is controlled in the UK and so paying all taxes there and on another side my family who are tax residents in Finland receiving foreign dividends from the UK company and paying all personal taxes here in Finland.

That is what we thinking however it is very optimistic knowing that both HMRC and Vero might look on these differently

People in Finland speak good English plus the Finns, like other Nordics, publish English business and tax advice pages which you can find by Google.