• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Training, what sort if any?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Training, what sort if any?

Hi All,

I'm thinking of returning to the fold, I left IT per se back in feb 2002 when I started a retail buisness which I've been running since. If returning to IT is an option then I guess the earliest to start would be next march\april, jobs dependant obviously, which would be a five year gap.

Before feb 2002 I had been contracting for 8 years and permie for 4 years before that. During this time I'd never needed to get qualified but am thinking that now this would be a pre-requisite and would also refresh my skills to the current level.

I'm thinking of MCSE as my last roles were working on corporate multi-site infrastructure projects principally in a Microsoft environment. My postion was described as techincal architect, but I think this gets overused. But as an example, my last role was to design and impelment a Tivoli infrastructure from the ground up.

My question is what training would be best, I've narrowed it down to:

1. boot camp
    2. self study using MS training kits
    3. self study using a kit from the likes of www.pviva1.com

Boot camp is pricey at 5k but could be qualified in 14 days. MS training kits have printed books (which I like, can read on the bog) as well CDs and it's their qualification so the material should be good. PVIVA is cheap £170ish, says it covers 95% of what you need, but is all on CD and should I be concerned about that 5%.