• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IT contracts in Canada

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IT contracts in Canada

I am an IT contractor (Big Data) in London UK , my present daily wage is £600 . I also have a Canadian permanent residence. I am tired of the housing and transport situation in London. I went to Canada last year for a short visit was impressed with the standard of living (big roads, big houses, huge 4x4 cars). I am keen to move there, however I have noticed while searching for a similar contract role in Canada that there aren't as many IT contract roles in Canada as in London UK and also the companies don't pay as much in Canada as they do in London. If anyone has any experience of IT contracting in Canada please share your thoughts here. Also, would you move to Canada if you were earning a similar wage as I am?

Originally posted by greypanda View Post
    I have noticed while searching for a similar contract role in Canada that there aren't as many IT contract roles in Canada as in London UK and also the companies don't pay as much in Canada as they do in London. If anyone has any experience of IT contracting in Canada please share your thoughts here. Also, would you move to Canada if you were earning a similar wage as I am?
    You're spot on about the market in Canada - I looked some years back and found that the market just wasn't there at all for someone with my skillset so we gave up looking.