• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do I have a way out of this situation?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do I have a way out of this situation?

Hi. First post in recent years but long time browser (forgot my old user from years ago!).

I'm an app developer, and took on a short contract in October, intended to last around 3 months. We agreed a fixed fee for the work, with invoicing split into four payments. The contract was a 'statement of work' which combined the project brief and spec, my proposal, and basic contractual terms.

By early Jan, I'd done as much as I could of the work. At this point, the end client needed to confirm further designs and specification, so the project halted. After some prompting, the client payed my first two invoices, amounting to 60% of the total value. I consider that the work I've done is also around 60%, so at this point I consider that we are, to all intents and purposes, equal.

Now, in the meantime, the project has halted and they haven't contacted me in around two weeks. When trying to contact them, I've had some extremely unpleasant conversations. They've been agressive, dismissive, patronising, and I really don't feel I can work with them any more - in fact I really want nothing to do with them ever again.