• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Negotiating rate with agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Negotiating rate with agency

I've been contracting at a public sector organisation for 3+ years now (they classed me outside of IR35 last year.) and during that time I've been unsuccessful in securing any rate rise with the client during that time.

I've discovered by happenstance that the fee my agency are taking is on the large side, nearly 30%, and was wondering whether it's likely I could negotiate with my agency on them taking a smaller fee, say 15%.

What would be the best way of broaching the subject with my agency? Are they likely to just turn the request down flat?

Are you aware of the 24 month rule?

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
      Are you aware of the 24 month rule?
      No, is it relevant?

Comment

Originally posted by blammo View Post
        No, is it relevant?
        Good lever for a rate increase if you have significant travel etc.

Bit late now though, best advice is to try but be prepared to walk.

Comment

Originally posted by blammo View Post
          What would be the best way of broaching the subject with my agency? Are they likely to just turn the request down flat?