• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Which option ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which option ?

Hi,
    Which of these options (in your opinion) is best for me?
    I’ve been a contractor for 8years. Last year, I had my little girl - she is 9 months old now. I’m ready to return to work!
    The options I have are:

1. Perm Offer from one of the big4 consulting firms - 75k
    2. Contract offer of £450 pd from my previous client
    3. Contract offer of 425 pd from another consultancy

Would consulting mean definitely long hours? With my background in retail banking, I will end up working for one of their retail banking clients anyway. So the culture may not be that bad? I never saw people work late in any of the 3 banks I worked! Also, We plan to move to Canada in a few years (DH is Canadian) - I thought working in a consulting firm can make this transition easier for us (secondment options etc). I’m terrified at the prospect of long hours though. DH works in an Investment bank - he works long hours. So I have to pick up DD from the nursery.

My previous client was ok. Boring place - but had a lot of flexibility on some projects.

The other consultancy - I told them I need flexibility - they are ok with it.

Don't wish to be rude but how on earth would we know?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Winterdiva View Post
      Which of these options (in your opinion) is best for me?