• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

When to start contracting? (Node, React)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When to start contracting? (Node, React)

Hi, new here, I was recommended here by someone

I have been applying for contract roles in the last week but have had no interview offers, and am wondering if I should bother yet.

I am a full-stack developer with 2.5 years total experience; the first 1 & 3/4 years being C++/other frameworks and the last ~7 months with web; React + Redux, Node, AWS, ES6 etc, with another ~year of personal projects using node/react, though I have found my own projects only help if I get an interview offer, they seem next to useless at the initial application/CV sending stage, judging by how few visits my site gets (where the projects are).

In contrast with contract roles, I get interviews offers for around 70% (guess) of permanent roles with a similar skillset around the 40-50k mark, which (I think) makes me a solid mid-level web dev, so I thought I'd test the waters with contracting since that's where I'd like to end up, but have had no interview offers even with lower paid £350/day rates, so am guessing I just don't have the commercial experience yet. So as the title says, when is enough commercial experience to apply for React and/or Node contract roles?

Any advice would be much appreciated
    Last edited by zukias; 24 February 2018, 22:00.