• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

QDOS IR35 insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by SmartieDriver View Post
    Hi,

I'm new to contracting, started in October on a 6-month contract, and it's been extended WEF next week to end of September. QDOS do provide my public liability insurance.

What I don't understand is the time period IR35 insurance covers.. does it back-date to October, when I started contracting?

What happens once my contract ends? I have a small child so may go back to not working until she is older... do I need to maintain a current IR35 policy indefinitely to cover me should HMRC suddenly decide to investigate me in the future?

Or what if I go back to PAYE employment? Again, do I have to maintain a current policy just in case?

Many thanks!
    Hi SmartieDriver - The TLC does cover retrospectively to any contract, providing the application statements apply. Whilst your public liability policy needs to be in place at the time of the incident that gives rise to a claim and can be claimed any time thereafter, the TLC policy works differently and must be in place at the time the claim is made/you receive the letter from HMRC. You can find more information around how each policy works here (which also has a section on your query): https://www.qdoscontractor.com/insur...olicy-renewals